Office of Rail and Road

We are an independent statutory body, with powers vested by Parliament in our governing board.

Our board is responsible for setting our strategy and overseeing its delivery. Board members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Transport for a fixed term of up to five years. Our team of executive directors is responsible for delivering the board's objectives and business plan, in line with our legal duties.

Our staff work from six offices across Britain, giving us the flexibility and coverage we need to perform our functions efficiently. Many of our people work away from the office, for example by conducting on-site inspections across the rail network.